Whitfield Parish Councillors

Whitfield Parish Council has 14 seats. There are no wards within the Parish so all Council Members serve the whole community and would be happy to assist with any issues you may have. If they cannot help they will know who to ask or where to go for further advice. Councillors can be contacted through the Parish Clerk by phone, email or post.

We currently have Vacancies for Councillors, so applications to the Parish Clerk to join the Council are invited. Details of the application and selection process is given in the Co-option and Selection of Councillors procedure that can be viewed on the Council Documents Page.


Councillor Jeff Goodsell   (Chair)

Councillor Wendy Bowman


Councillor  Carol Coleman

Councillor Karen Colyer


Councillor Julie Cummings

Councillor Judy Gould


Councillor Keith Gowland

Councillor Carrol Moore

The main functions of the Parish Council are to;

  • Provide a public forum whereby Members may ask questions on matters relevant to the Council’s functions and to bring forward matters for debate;
  • Receive reports and to adopt or otherwise deal with the recommendations from all Committees, Sub-Committees, Working Groups and Members providing opportunity for questions and comments from Members;
  • Determine the major policy decisions and objectives of the Parish Council and their priority;
  • Deal with the various Highways and Transport issues as they arise.

Committee Membership & Appointments to Outside Bodies

The Parish Council has two committees that meet each month – Planning,  and Recreation.

The Finance Committee meets twice a year, or more often if necessary.

All Councillors serve on at least one committee. The membership and area of responsibility for each committee is set out below:

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee looks after the Council’s financial matters including accounting, audit, financial risk management and management of the Council’s administration and capital expenditure. It also deals with personnel and legal issues.

  • Councillor Jeff Goodsell (Chair)
  • Councillor Wendy Bowman
  • Councillor Carol Coleman
  • Councillor Keith Gowland

Planning Committee

This Committee is responsible for exercising the Parish Council’s right under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 to be notified and comment on planning applications affecting the Whitfield area. It considers and makes recommendations on consultations relating to Local, Regional and Structure plans and issues concerning longer term future plans for the Council and the village.

  • Councillor Wendy Bowman (Chair)
  • Councillor Keith Gowland
  • Councillor Jeff Goodsell

Recreation Committee

The Recreation Committee deals with all issues relating to land and premises, management of the Council Facilities, and compliance to Health and Safety Policy and Risk Assessment. It deals with the use, maintenance and development of play and sports equipment, the Recreation Ground and Pavilion, including letting to Community Groups and Local Residents.

The Committee also exercises the powers and duties of the Council on road, footpath and transportation matters, including; road signs and signposting; street lighting; public transport issues (i.e. services, bus shelters etc); public rights of way, footpaths and bridleways; grit bin provision; also and deals with tree and horticultural issues (except Tree Preservation Orders, which are dealt with by the Planning Committee).

  • Councillor  Carol Coleman (Chair)
  • Councillor Karen Colyer
  • Councillor Julie Cummings
  • Councillor Jeff Goodsell
  • Councillor Carrol Moore

The Parish Council also has representation on a number of local organisations:

Kent Association of Local Councils (KALC) Dover Area

  • Councillor Keith Gowland

Whitfield Village Hall Management Committee

  • Councillor Carol Coleman
  • Councillor Wendy Bowman

Whitfield School Travel Committee

  • Councillor Wendy Bowman,
  • Councillor Keith Gowland